Who Owns Britain and Ireland
You are here :: County Details > Ireland > Leitrim
Bottom of Page
County Notes
County Map

Significant Institutional Landowners

1872: The Church of Ireland owned 11,950 acres.

County Data
Data Type1872 Value2001 Value% change
Total acreage3713713929605.81
Agricultural acreage334233209726-37.25
Non agricultural acreage37371183234390.31
Owners of nothing at all9487310582-88.85
Total Dwellings174058112-53.39
1872 owners of less than one acre124- 
2001 owners of 0-2ha (0-4.94 acres)-8 
Landowners over one acre (1872)327- 
Landowners over 2ha (2001)-4508 
Landowners over 500 acres462-95.65
Acreage of county owned by owners of over 500 acres1771770-100.00
----- Additional Data ----- 
Percentage of county owned by owners of over 500 acres47.710.00-100.00
Agricultural land as percentage of total90.0053.37-40.70
Average number of people per dwelling5.483.12-43.07
Notes: *None.
Top Land Owners in 1872
OwnerThis County
of county
Lord Massey of The Hermitage, Castle Connell245716.62
Mr George Lane Fox of Bramham Park,Tadcaster,Yorks188505.0815000
Mr Owen Wynn of Hazlewood, Sligo154364.16
Mr Arthur Loftus Tottenham MP of Glenfarne, Enniskillen145613.92
Mr William Johnston of Kinlough House, Kinlough143953.88
Colonel John Whyte of Glencar, Manor-Hamilton109892.96
Mr Hugh Lyons-Montgomery of Belavel101792.74
Miss Catherine Jones of Hayle Place, Maidstone, Kent98392.65
Lord Harlech (MP) of Derrycarne, Dromod96342.59
Sir Morgan George Crofton Bt of Mohill Castle, Mohill95902.5818752
Notes: *None.

Top Of Page


Copyright: © Kevin Cahill, 2001